Coquitlam Foundation Celebrates its 27th Annual Awards Ceremony

On the evening of June 20th, organizations, grantees, students, awards recipients, community members, donors, directors, and staff came together to celebrate the accomplishments of the Coquitlam community. It was the Foundation’s 27th annual awards ceremony, hosted at the Evergreen Cultural Centre. A remarkable $70 000 in scholarships, bursaries, and grants was distributed.

This was the final awards ceremony for two of our board members: Linda Reimer and Justina Mark. Linda Reimer has been on the board for the last year, and has assisted us with the implementation of our strategic plan. Justina Mark has been on our board for the last four years as Treasurer. She also joined our Vice-Chair John Wolff as the two presenters of the evening.

Shortly after some introductory words from John Wolff, board Chair Roch Ripley, and Mayor Richard Stewart, we received a brief but heartfelt and inspiring speech from one of this year’s awards winners. Teng Pasion, who received the 2019 James Gordon Stewart Scholarship, spoke about the impact of receiving a scholarship on pursuing further education. 

The event featured an excellent and polished performance by the Heritage Woods Secondary Jazz Combo, led by their music teacher Mrs. Kathy Fester. The ensemble presented a variety of jazz pieces as well as a smooth and energetic rendition of the classic “Eye of the Tiger”.

The night wrapped up with the announcement of two new funds: the New Earth Marketing fund, which focuses on environmental programs, and the Jack & Helen Stiglish/Stiglich Memorial Fund, which aims to support women entering into geriatric studies and to address seniors in isolation. 

Finally, our MC and Vice-Chair John Wolff thanked all of the people and groups who made the Awards Ceremony and the work of the Foundation possible:

  • Kathy Fester and the Heritage Woods Jazz Combo for their wonderful performance. 
  • The Foundation’s Event Committee Chair, Linda Meneghello, and the Event Committee members and volunteers 
  • John Meneghello, our volunteer photographer  
  • Julie Fisher (from Drysdale Bacon & Mc Stavick) for the pizza enjoyed by the musicians from Heritage Woods Secondary  
  • All our donors, supporters and volunteers for their contribution to this evening’s award of bursaries, scholarships and grants. 
  • Our professional staff: Executive Director Dwight Yochim, Administrative Assistant Tricia Kobayashi, Bookkeeper Angelo Chong, and Communications Coordinator Naoreen Kabir, for their support throughout the year and especially in the development of this Awards Night. 
  • Our sponsors: Quantus Developments, Evergreen Cultural Centre, Thrifty Foods, and Sandpiper Signs & Decals (along with owner Carlo Zarrillo)

It was a truly inspiring night which highlighted the accomplishments and progress of the amazing students and organizations in our community. The Foundation is delighted by the success of the awards ceremony and looks forward to the future accomplishments and projects of the recipients.

The Coquitlam Foundation is registered with Canada Revenue as a charitable organization, No. 890762347 RR0001.

Here is a complete list of the 2019 recipients of grants, bursaries, and scholarships:

Donor-advised Funds

CMLA Brodie Campbell Memorial Fund
Zachari Lacino ($1000)

Trevor Wingrove Fund Bursary
Clark Carter ($500)

Steps Together Fund Bursaries ($750)
Marelle Reid
Taisha Zivny

James Gordon Stewart Fund ($1500)
Edanna Jones
Teng Pasion

Soroptimist Bea Kelly Volunteer Award ($1000)
Rachael Nicholas
Isabel Wilson
Name withheld upon request

Soroptimist Give Her Wings Award
Semhar Hailyes ($1000)

Coquitlam Foundation Community Fund Bursary ($750)
Young Jin Kim
Will Nguyen
Dominic Ong
Jobina Sitoh
Ivana Truong

Mayor’s Community Fund Scholarships ($500)

Gleneagle Secondary School
Sydney Ko
Dominic Ong

Pinetree Secondary School
Brian Chen
Christina Zhang

Centennial Secondary School
Young Jin Kim
Taisha Zivny

Dr.Charles Best Secondary School
Jim Yuanpeng Liu
Sienna Riordan

Symington Endowment Fund
$270 each:
Amelia Mori
Brooklyn Lee-McMeeken
Gabrielle Ng
Kimiko Pausche
Mariama Camara-Booth

$350 each:
Destiny Christensen
Emily Christie
Jasmine Barhar
Makayla Koci
Matthew Dykman
Nicolas Lamond
Rylan Mallias
Summer Novakowski

$550 each:
Athena Hutchinson
Carley Leakos

$1000 each:
Scarlett Earl
Sophie Patterson

West Coast Movement Society ($7500)

Community Grants

Coquitlam Foundation Community Fund Grants
Access Youth Outreach Services ($2000)
Coquitlam Place des Arts Society ($2000)
Societe Place Maillardville Society ($1300)
Vancouver International Children’s Festival Society ($1000)

James Gordon Stewart Fund
Alzheimer Society ($3500)

Shelagh Elaine Fulton Memorial Fund Grant
The Arthritis Society ($2000)

Coquitlam Centre Fund
Down Syndrome Research Foundation ($1500)

Noura Homes Community Fund
Coquitlam Search & Rescue Society ($5000)

Danielle & Gary Couling Education Fund Bursaries
Pacific Post-Partum Society ($1000)

Carleigh Rae LeClair Fund
Canadian Diabetes Association ($10 000)

Beverly Ann Cook Fund
Volunteer Cancer Drivers ($1000)

Evergreen Arts Education Endowment Fund
Evergreen Cultural Centre ($9000)