Coquitlam Foundation adds directors, vets awards, plans fundraiser

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

COQUITLAM – When it rains, it pours. And when the Coquitlam Foundation gets busy, it gets very busy!

The foundation’s executive director, Dwight Yochim, announced this week that the board of directors has approved the appointment of five new board members to fill current and upcoming vacancies precipitated by resignations and retirements.

As well, veteran board member and community philanthropist Colleen Talbot has been named chair of the board, replacing Jason Leo Carvalho, who is moving to Toronto. Also leaving are Michele Chow, who is expecting her second child; Justin Kim, whose business interests often take him out of town; and Madhavee Inamdar, who is moving to Victoria.

While this was transpiring, planning was being finalized for the foundation’s annual Kickin’ it Country “fun-raiser,” at 6 p.m., April 13 at the Centennial Pavilion, 620 Poirier. (Ticket information here.)

And if that was not enough, grants committee chair Ron Grender reported that the foundation received 26 applications for community grants and 44 applications for scholarships and bursaries by the time the Feb. 16 awards-application deadline passed. The committee will begin evaluation of the applications next month, and awards will be distributed at the Evergreen Cultural Centre on June 13.

Joining the board immediately are Debra Abraham, founder and executive director of Unique Get Together Society; Adel Gamar, faculty, executive education, UBC Sauder School of Business; Trish Mandewo, speaker, facilitator, business owner and author; and John Wolff, a financial consultant with an illustrious record of community volunteerism. Joining the board in June will be Bruce T. Okabe, chief executive officer of Tourism Richmond. He will replace Grender, who will retire from the board after serving the maximum-allowable two, four-year terms.

“I want to thank all the outgoing board members for their dedicated service to the community,” Talbot said. “In his or her own way, each has contributed in a meaningful manner to the foundation and its important work. We wish them well as they embark on new challenges.”

Talbot also expressed thanks to the many outstanding Coquitlam citizens who applied for positions on the board, and said she looked forward to serving with the new directors. “We are extremely pleased to be welcoming so many highly qualified and energetic men and women to our board,” she said.

Other current board members include Carlo Zarrillo (representing the Tri-Cities Chamber of Commerce), Carol Cahoon (School District 43), Terry O’Neill (City of Coquitlam), Treasurer Justina Mark, and members at large Linda Meneghello and Roch Ripley.

The Coquitlam Foundation manages $3 million in 30 foundation-directed and donor-advised funds. The foundation always welcomes donations to any of its donor-advised or foundation-directed funds, which can be made by clicking here.

As well, the foundation invites interested individuals or organizations to consider establishing a fund with the foundation. Individuals and families are also encouraged to think of the foundation when planning legacy and estate donations.

The Coquitlam Foundation is registered with Canada Revenue as a charitable organization, No. 890762347 RR0001.