Coquitlam Foundation welcomes Diane Sowden to its board

Thursday, January 7, 2010

COQUITLAM – Coquitlam school trustee Diane Sowden has joined the board of directors of the Coquitlam Foundation.

A resident of Coquitlam for the past 25 years, Sowden recently retired after 30 years from the position of owner/operator of a public opinion market research firm and is the co-founder/executive director of Children of the Street Society, both located in Coquitlam. A Certified Family Support Worker, Sowden replaces Brian Robinson as School District 43’s representative on the Coquitlam Foundation board.

Sowden joins chair Colleen Talbot, vice-chair Gerri Wallis, secretary Julie Fisher, treasurer Bob Tanaka, and directors Sam Nakai, Terry O’Neill, Richard Rainey, Ron Roberge, Mayor Richard Stewart, Janet Toddington, and Wim Vander Zalm on the board. Laurel Lawson is the foundation’s executive director.

Established in 1992, the Coquitlam Foundation encourages and supports creative, targeted philanthropy that builds a vibrant, sustainable, and healthy community. Last year, the foundation distributed over $50,000 in grants, bursaries and scholarships. As well, the Coquitlam Foundation offers local residents the opportunity to focus their donations in their own community and also to create a legacy for the future.

The Coquitlam Foundation is always pleased to accept donations, c/o P.O. Box 2, 1207 Pinetree Way, Coquitlam, B.C., Canada, V3B 7Y3. Donations can also be made through the Foundation’s website, The Coquitlam Foundation is registered with Canada Revenue as a charitable organization, No. 890762347 RR0001.

Coquitlam Foundation executive director Laurel Lawson: 778.995.7152
Coquitlam Foundation chair Colleen Talbot: 604.521.3454