Coquitlam Foundation announces 2010 award winners

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

COQUITLAM – The Coquitlam Foundation has announced it will be distributing almost $50,000 in grants, bursaries and scholarships at its annual Awards Night at the Evergreen Cultural Centre on Wednesday, April 14.

“We are especially pleased to be able to continue supporting the community in so many tangible ways during what is a challenging time for many local charities and non-profit organizations,” foundation chair Colleen Talbot says.

Coquitlam Foundation Executive Director Laurel Lawson adds that, like many other non-profits, the foundation did not receive a Direct Access Grant from the provincial government this year. Nevertheless, the foundation was able to utilize resources in foundation- and donor-directed funds to answer the needs of dozens of Coquitlam-area groups and individuals.

Specifically, the Coquitlam Foundation is distributing $43,823 in grants and $5,000 in bursaries and scholarships this year, Grants Committee chair Gerri Wallis says.

Groups receiving grants from the arts-oriented Builder’s Trust Fund include: Coastal Sound Music; Evergreen Cultural Centre; Glen Home & School Society; Place des Arts; Stage 43 Theatrical Society; Theatrix; Vancouver International Children’s Festival; Douglas College; Arts Connect; Eagle Ridge Bible Fellowship; Riverview Horticultural Centre Society; and Burquest Jewish Community Association.

The Community Pregnancy Care Society and Dr. Charles Best Secondary will receive grants from the Community Wellness Fund; Mackin House Museum is receiving funding from the Heritage Fund; Porter Ecole Elementary is receiving a grant from the Peter Legge Literary Fund. Drug Awareness Fund grants are going to the Port Coquitlam Youth Society, Tri-City Drug Awareness and Children of the Street.

Leo Chan is this year’s winner of the R.A. LeClair Scholarship. Corey Cannon and Ian Radonich share the CMLA Brodie Campbell Memorial Scholarship. And, finally, students Seoyoung (Claudia) Lee, Andrew Lusignan, Brennan Ho, Clair Lam, Shiva Bakhtiany and Michael Wilson are this year’s bursary recipients, drawing awards from the foundation’s Education Fund.

The Coquitlam Foundation, which began operation in 1992, encourages and supports creative, targeted philanthropy that builds a vibrant, sustainable and healthy community. It manages more than 20 donor- and foundation-directed funds, focusing on everything from the arts and athletics to literacy and gymnastics. Over the past 18 months, the foundation’s endowment funds have grown by a quarter-of-a-million dollars, to $1,630,000 from $1,380,000—an increase of 18 percent.

Members of the public are invited to attend the awards night starting at 6:30 p.m. on April 14, but are asked to register first by contacting Julie Fisher at or calling 604.468.9598. Refreshments will be served, and entertainment is also scheduled.

The Coquitlam Foundation is always pleased to accept donations, c/o P.O. Box 2, 1207 Pinetree Way, Coquitlam, B.C., Canada, V3B 7Y3, or through the Foundation’s website. The Coquitlam Foundation is registered with Canada Revenue as a charitable organization, No. 890762347 RR0001.

Coquitlam Foundation executive director Laurel Lawson: 778.995.7152
Coquitlam Foundation chair Colleen Talbot: 604.521.3454
Grants Committee chair: Gerri Wallis: 604-931-7351